Wimbledon Is Supposedly Banning Russian And Belarusian Tennis Players — Here’s Who’s Implicated

According to the grand slam tournament’s organizers, tennis players from Russia and Belarus will be forbidden from competing in this year’s Wimbledon, making it the latest high-profile sporting event to reject players from the two nations in the context of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.
According to the BBC, the decision to ban these players has already been made, and the All England Lawn Tennis Club will confirm the decision later Wednesday.
According to the newspaper, the decision was taken in cooperation with the British government, which has been loud about Russian and Belarusian involvement in sporting events.
Wimbledon’s decision looks to be an aberration for the time being, as players from both countries have been allowed to compete in tournaments on both the men’s and women’s tours, but not under their national flags.
Wimbledon is the first of four tennis grand slam competitions to prohibit Russian and Belarusian players from competing. However, it is uncertain whether others will follow suit.
Under a ban, the most high-profile absentees would be World No. 2 men’s player Daniil Medvedev of Russia and World No. 4 women’s player Aryna Sabalenka of Belarus.
Other notable absentees include Russia’s eighth-ranked men’s player Andrey Rublev, his compatriot Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, the World No. 15 women’s player, and former World No. 1 Belarusian sensation Victoria Azarenka.

Share This:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.